Turkey Bans Production and Sale of Vegan Cheese

Turkey has decided to ban the production and sale of dairy-free cheese entirely across the country.

Vegan cheese producers and consumers in Turkey are facing a government ban on sales and production following an unprecedented law by the Turkish Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry. 

According to the Vegan Association of Turkey, article 9/3 added to the Turkish Food Codex Regulation writes that: “Products that give the impression of cheese cannot be produced using vegetable oil or other food ingredients.” 

The pretense behind the ban is “to prevent adulteration”, but any product that is considered to resemble conventional cheese, but does not even contain the word cheese in its name or marketing, can be sanctioned.

Do you have a question or inquiry?

We are here to help you

    



Do you have questions or inquiries?

We are here to help

    

Date of publishing:
Country: Turkey
Category: Dairy products and analogues, Fats and oils, and fat emulsions, Edible ices, including sherbet and sorbet, Fruits and Vegetables, Confectionery, Cereals and cereal products, Bakery Wares, Meat and meat products, Fish and fish products, Eggs and egg products, Sweeteners, including honey, Salts, spices, soups, sauces, salads and protein products, Foodstuffs intended for particular nutritional uses, Beverages, excluding dairy products, Ready-to-eat savouries, Prepared foods, Novel foods, B2B products, Hotels amenities products

Get exclusive access to our contents

Subscribe Now